## 20.—Legislatures and Premiers of Manitoba, 1932-52, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1952

## Legislatures, 1932-521

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 16, 1932 July 27, 1936 Apr. 22, 1941 Oct. 15, 1945 Nov. 10, 1949	19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly 22nd General Assembly 23rd General Assembly	5 5 4	Feb. 14, 1933 Feb. 18, 1937 Dec. 9, 1941 Feb. 19, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950	June 12, 1936 Mar. 13, 1941 Sept. 8, 1945 Sept. 29, 1949 2

<sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1932-52 were: 12th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 8, 1922, under the leadership of Hon. J. Bracken; 13th Ministry, sworn in Jan. 14, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. Stuart S. Garson, K.C.; 14th Ministry, sworn in Nov. 13, 1949, under the leadership of Hon. D. L. Campbell. <sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1952.

## **Fourteenth Ministry**

(Party standing at latest General Election, Nov. 10, 1949: 43 Coalition [30 Liberal-Progressive, 9 Progressive Conservative, 4 Independent], 14 Anti-Coalition [7 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 6 Independent, 1 Labour-Progressive].)

Norz.-See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of the Council, Minister of Dominion - Provincial Relations. Minister of Agriculture and Immi- gration. Secretary. Municipal Commissioner. Minister of Mines and Natural Re- sources. Attorney General. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Health and Public Wel- fare. Provincial Treasurer.	Hon. DOUGLAS L. CAMPBELL Hon. FRANCIS C. BELL Hon. CHAS. E. GREENLAY Hon. CHAS. E. GREENLAY Hon. JOHN S McDIARMID Hon. JOHN S McDIARMID Hon. WILLIAM MORTON Hon. WILLIAM MORTON Hon. WILLIAM MORTON Hon. IVAN SCHULTZ HON. RONALD DAVID TURNER	Feb. 15, 1946 Dec. 1, 1951 May 27, 1932 Nov. 4, 1940 Nov. 22, 1939 Nov. 22, 1939 Sept. 21, 1936 Feb. 15, 1946	Nov. 13, 1948 Dec. 14, 1948 Dec. 14, 1948 Dec. 1, 1951 May 27, 1932 Aug. 16, 1950 Dec. 14, 1948 Aug. 19, 1950 Feb. 5, 1944 Aug. 16, 1950 Dec. 1, 1951

## Subsection 8.—Saskatchewan

The Government of the Province of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly.

The Honourable W. J. Patterson, the present Lieutenant-Governor, was commissioned to office July 4, 1951. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the Year Book 1951, p. 95.

The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 52, elected for a maximum term of five years.

The Premier receives \$6,500 and each Cabinet Minister \$5,000 annually in addition to the sessional indemnity, while the Leader of the Opposition, the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker receive an additional \$2,500, \$1,500 and \$600, respectively. The annual salary of a Member of the Legislature is \$2,000 together with an expense allowance of \$1,000.

98452 - 6